About Washington / Baltimore HIDTA


Executive Board

An executive board comprised of Federal, state, and local representatives from law enforcement, treatment, prevention, public safety, and criminal justice agencies from across the region, and an executive director lead the W/B HIDTA. The executive board assesses the drug trafficking threats found in the region; develops a strategy to address the threats; designs initiatives to implement the strategy; and proposes funding needed to carry out the initiatives.  


Chief Howard Hall
Roanoke Police
Executive Board Chairperson

Chief Hall joined the Roanoke County Police Department in 2012 after a 25-year career in the Baltimore County Police Department (BCPD). He is a certified instructor and recognized expert in data-driven policing. During his service at the BCPD, Chief Hall gained experience in patrol, traffic, special operations, administration, accreditation compliance, and other specialties.

Chief Hall earned a B.A.in Government and Politics, a Master of Public Administration, and a Graduate Certificate in Police Administration. He attended the FBI National Academy and currently serves at the president of the Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police.

Vice Chairperson

Robert Hur
US Attorney for the District of Maryland
Vice Chairperson

Robert K. Hur is the 48th United States Attorney for the District of Maryland.  Prior to taking office in 2018, he served as Principal Associate Deputy Attorney General with the Department of Justice in Washington, DC.  In that position, Mr. Hur was a member of the Department’s senior leadership team and the top aide to Deputy Attorney General Rod J. Rosenstein, assisting him with oversight of all components of the Department.

Mr. Hur served as an Assistant U.S. Attorney in the District of Maryland from 2007 to 2014, where he prosecuted gang violence, firearms offenses, and narcotics trafficking, as well as white-collar offenses including financial institutions fraud, public corruption, mortgage fraud, tax offenses, computer network intrusions, and intellectual property theft.  He received the Attorney General’s Distinguished Service Award for superior performance and excellence as a lawyer. Mr. Hur began his legal career as a law clerk for the late William H. Rehnquist, Chief Justice of the United States, and Judge Alex Kozinski of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

He received his A.B. degree, magna cum laude with highest honors, from Harvard College, and his J.D. from Stanford Law School, where he served as executive editor of the Stanford Law Review.

Federal Members

Special Agent in Charge Jesse Fong
Drug Enforcement Administration,
Washington Division Office

Special Agent in Charge Ashan Benedict
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives, Washington Field Office

Special Agent in Charge James A. Dawson
Federal Bureau of Investigation,
Washington Field Division

United States Marshal Johnny Hughes
United States Marshals Service,
District of Maryland

Mike Sherwin
Acting U.S. Attorney for the District of Columbia

Zachary Terwilliger
U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Virginia

Special Agent in Charge Jennifer Boone
Federal Bureau of Investigation,
Baltimore Field Division

Special Agent in Charge Raymond Villanueva
Department of Homeland Security Investigations, Washington Field Office

Robert Hur
U.S. Attorney for the District of Maryland

Special Agent in Charge Tim Jones
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives, Baltimore Field Office

Special Agent in Charge John Eisert
Department of Homeland Security Investigations, Baltimore Field Office

Richard Tischner, Director
Court Services and Offender Supervision Agency

United States Marshal Nick Proffitt
United States Marshals Service, Eastern District of Virginia

Robert Anthony Dixon
United States Marshals Service,
District of Columbia

Daniel Bubar
Acting U.S. Attorney for the Western District of Virginia

Postal Inspector in Charge Peter Rendina
United States Postal Inspection Service, Washington Division

State Members

Colonel Woodrow Jones
Superintendent, Maryland State Police

Colonel Gary Settle
Superintendent, Virginia State Police

V. Glenn Fueston, Director
Maryland Governor’s Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, and Victim Services

Robert Green, Secretary
Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correction Services

Colonel Jan Cahill, Superintendent
West Virginia State Police

Local Members

Commissioner Michael Harrison
Baltimore Police Department

Marilyn Mosby
State’s Attorney for Baltimore City

Suzanne Somervillle, LCSW
Bureau Chief, Arlington County Substance Abuse Center

Chief Peter Newsham
Metropolitan Police Department

Chief Gerald Smith
Richmond Police Department

Interim Chief Hector Velez
Prince George’s County Police Department

Acting Chief Charles Penn
Arlington County Police Department

Chief George Swartwood
Martinsburg Police Department

Sheriff Jeffrey Gahler
Harford County Sheriff’s Office

Sheriff Michael Chapman
Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office

Chief Howard Hall
Roanoke County Police Department

Chief Terry Sult
Hampton Police Division